Don’t sell yourself short

   I have a habit of participating in school fundraisers and selling to someone that I can be sure will enjoy the product I’m offering- myself.  This past month I sold myself 3 bars of fudge for my school music trip fundraiser.  I considered it both a late birthday and early Christmas gift to myself and an investment in my trip, because those 3 bars took a whole $7.50 off of my trip price (which was actually a very good deal considering I paid $15). Anyways, the fudge was not the only fundraiser I sold to myself.  Last year I sold myself not one, but TWO magazine subscriptions! 

What a fantastic idea!  Every month when my magazines would come in the mail it felt like Christmas morning!  I would excitedly await discovering who would be on the cover? What are this seasons latest trends? What recipes and make-up tips would I read, flag, and then never actually use? It was so exhilarating! 

  But for some reason I decided not to renew my subscriptions to the magazines when the time came around this year. 

  I truly enjoyed reading these magazines, but this year I’ve realized how much of my magazines were advertisements (thank you media studies class) and how the images of thin, beautiful photo shopped women were not the best for my self-esteem.

  From now on I plan on focusing on consuming media that isn’t nearly as superficial.  Looking back, I’m slightly offended by the way these magazines dumb down the language to make it appeal to teen girls and young women by using abbreviations of words and lame slang that never has -and never will- make me relate to the articles more. I would like to demand magazines use less photo shop and feature young ladies of every ethnicity and body type and include articles with more depth. This isn’t going to happen over night.

I won’t pretend these magazines were all bad, some of my fondest memories involve huddling together with my gal pals with magazines spread out all over my bedroom floor, dissecting each issue for style tips and celebrity gossip.  But as we grow up, what we read must grow up as well.

   Young women deserve magazines that expand past “How to look hot in plaid” or “How to catch boys attention”. Yes, I loved these magazines, but I won’t sell myself short.

2 thoughts on “Don’t sell yourself short

  1. This is so true! I love the line “But as we grow up, what we read must grow up as well.” I totally agree with that in this case, because it is true how magazines kind of stereotype girls or at least the type of girls who will be reading these magazines to be the typical popular dumb blonde from the movies when really barely any people like that exist.

Leave a Reply

