The Laugh Giver

    When people ask me what I want to do with my life I often have a hard time answering this question.  I often say “I want to be happy” or “after highschool I would like to study broadcast journalism”.  These are boring answers.  These are short, bland and incomplete answers.  The reason I don’t give them the full answer is because it makes me seem like a child without any sense of reality.  I dream big, fat, romantic dreams.  I don’t want to do just one thing with my life, I want to do many.  In other words,  I want to taste all of the free samples I can at the grocery store of life.  I want to be a radio announcer, Much Music VJ, singing waitress, wal-mart greeter, youth group leader, smokey jazz club singer, stand up comedian, commuinity theatre director, cheesy commercial actor, magazine writer, gospel church choir member  and flight attendant.  I want to be it all.  No joke.  But above all, I want to make people laugh EVERYDAY of my life. I believe that everyone is put on this earth with a set of God-given skills, talents and desires that lead them to what they are ment to do.  Some are born to teach, some to make beautiful music, some to heal others.  I was created to make people laugh.  Whether it’s just me recounting an emabrassing story (which I never seem to have a shortage of) or trying to open a jar, I am a goof ball.  I can’t help it.  I’ve tried to fight it, but I can’t.  The force that compells me to make lame puns or share the story about how I choked on a whistle when I was six with mere strangers is much stronger than common sense that tells me to act normal.  I am Ashley, and I am a dork that can’t help but act silly.  So I have been lucky to identify what I am made to do with my life by age 16.  I am excited to make people laugh everyday for the rest of my life.  I like to think that I’ll be like Oprah, but instead of handing out year supplies of blood orange froyo, I’ll hand out laughter like, “YOU GET A LAUGH!  AND YOU GET A LAUGH!  AND YOU GET A LAUGH!” . So there it is, to broadly classify what I want to be from now on and forever is to be a Laugh Giver.   So when people ask me what I want to do, from now on, I’m going to give them that big, long list and then tell them why, even adding a Laugh Giver to the whole she-bang.  They’ll probably laugh. I don’t care. I hope you too can find your talent and never let it go.

4 thoughts on “The Laugh Giver

  1. First off, this made me smile. Maybe I’m just still on an OSLC buzz but I totally understand this, and I don’t think it’s outrageous at all! I encourage you to never ever ever EVER stop dreaming. Secondly, thank you for being a positive influence on your blog and around school. I find it pleasant, inspirational and encouraging 🙂

    • Thank you very much Kiana! And thank you for being fabulous, mature and an original. You’re posts on all social media are relvent, entertaining and educational!
      P.S when you said that Changing of the Seasons was a great song on instagram I nearly peed my pants because you have AMA-ZA-ZING taste in music and I was super flattered!

  2. I completely agree with this. You can never choose one thing to do your whole life. You never know what you’d like best unless you try it once. I don’t know you very well, but I would like to think that this sums you up beautifully, and you most definitely made me laugh and that is someone who you always need by your side. So thank you for giving me a laugh.

Leave a Reply

