The Beginning

Hello there, you have stumbled upon the blog of Ashley.  I would say you have luckily stumbled upon my blog, but there is no guarantee that I am your cup of tea. So now that we are on a first name basis I will tell you a little bit about myself ( I would ask you for information about yourself, but I have come to the realization that the internet can be quite the anonyms place, so I’ll just be narcissistic and chat away about myself).  To begin, I am in my final year of high school.  I’m of average intelligence (or at least I hope) and average height, so I am an average adolescent.  Now that I have given you the basic details about me, I will share with you, a hopefully artsy-fartsy member of the internet world, my autobiographical poem.

When you were a little girl you were looked at funny.

The other girls wore ponytails,

Or pigtails.

While you were forced to sport a messy, fuzzy, rats tail.

But, when you were alone.

And I mean really alone.

You would sing anything.

You would dance at any chance.

You would perform- which was outside the norm.

Alone, you’d hide your flare.

And try to tame your hair.

When you grew older you were still looked at funny.

The other girls’ skin was light.

It seemed all the other girls were white.

And as for you, you were dark as night.

Though, when you were alone.

I mean completely alone.

You would sing anything.

You would dance at any chance.

You would perform- which was outside the norm.

Alone, you’d hide your flare.

And try to tame your hair.

When you grew even older you realized we are all looked at funny.

The other girls have flaws.

The other girls have less than perfect paws.

And you are no exception.

So even when you aren’t alone.

Not alone at all all.

You should sing anything.

You should dance at any chance.

You should perform- ignore the norm.

And now you no longer care

What people think of your hair.

2 thoughts on “The Beginning

Leave a Reply

